Scroll To Top

MTV Commemorates the Year In Music All Week Long

Music 08 Dec 2011   »   by TheWhatItDo
[twitter-button]

MTV has just announced a week long celebration of a year in music in which it will name the year’s best artists, songs and performances. What does this mean for you? Well for the first time, MTV is pulling together its music powerhouses from MTV News, MTV.com and MTV Music & Talent, to collaborate on three different year end lists: EDM (electronic dance artist of the year), song of the year and artist of the year.

Beginning Monday, December 12, from 8am to 9am ET (5am-6am PT), during MTV’s morning music hours, AMTV, editors from MTV News, MTV Music & Talent, and MTV.com will take part in a spirited debate, where they will reveal their collective choices for best EDM (electronic dance artist of the year) joined by MTV Iggy (Monday, December 12TH), song of the year (Wednesday, December 14th), and artist of the year (Thursday, December 15th). During AMTV, the panel will countdown their selections from #10 to #3, leaving the audience in limbo to debate the list. Each day at 4:59pm ET (1:59pm PT), Sway will reveal the top choices and present the award to the #1 pick. After the winner is revealed, the acceptance speech will run sporadically throughout our prime-time hours. The debates will also be featured on mtvU and MTV Hits, and extensive news stories will be featured on MTV News and various MTV.com sites.

In addition to the panel-selected lists, for the first time, MTV is asking fans to vote (http://buzzworthy.mtv.com/2011/12/05/best-mtv-live-performances-vote/) on MTV’s best live musical performance of the year and support their favorite artist and song by tweeting #MTVBest2011. The nominees span MTV’s various award shows and concert series including MTV Video Music Awards, MTV Unplugged, mtvU Woodie Awards, O Music Awards, Live in NYC, Spring Break, mtvU Movies and Music Fest and Buzzworthy Live. Nominees include Adele’s “Someone Like You” from the 2011 MTV Video Music Awards, Odd Future’s “Sandwiches and Yonkers” from the 2011 mtvU Woodie Awards, Thirty Seconds to Mars’ “Hurricane” from MTV Unplugged, Robyn’s “Dancing on My Own” from O Music Awards 2 and Two Door Cinema Club’s “What You Know” from Live In NYC. The top voted performances will be revealed during MTV’s AMTV between 8am-9am ET (5am-6am PT) on Tuesday, December 13, with the two top fan selections revealed by Sway later that day at 4:59pm ET (1:59pm PT).

MTV2 will celebrate the year end music with a variety of best lists including its annual “Best of Sucker Free Countdown #1’s” debuting December 12 at 7am ET (5am PT) and “MTV2’s 120 Minutes with Matt Pinfield” will reveal its top 10 moments of the year during a special debuting on Dec. 23 at 6am ET (3am PT).

*Press Release provided by MTV
*photo image courtesy of MTV

About the author